Race Calendar

Big Dipper Half Marathon

15 Sep 2024

Dronfield, Derbyshire
Starts: 10:00
Distance: 13.1 Miles
Entry Fee: £20.00 - £32.00

One of the hilliest and most scenic half marathons in the country

Taking in the Derbyshire countryside and the Peak District National Park, the route sees runners tackle 510m (1,675ft) of ascent. Starting near The Hyde Park Inn in Dronfield, The Big Dipper heads out towards Barlow, Shillito Woods and then climbs up and through the hamlet of Unthank, before returning back to Dronfield. The course is gruelling, hilly and has a sting in the tail but is equally rewarding with its stunning views and fabulous on-route support, and completing it puts you in a select group of privileged runners.


Dronfield Running Club

S18 1UH


13.1 Miles
See Map
Entry limit:
Remaining places:
Race licence:
Licence no. 27694
Not suitable for wheelchairs


  • Water stations
  • Distance markers
  • Toilets
  • Baggage store
  • No changing facilities
  • No showers
Race HQ:
Hyde Park, Hilltop Road, Dronfield, Derbyshire, S18 1UH

Off-road parking is available within 2km of the start.

Our iconic Big Dipper technical t-shirts can be bought at the time of booking for £10 for bookings made before the end of July 2024. T-shirts will also be available to buy on the day, subject to availability. Registration will open at 8:30am for runners to collect their race number. Prizes for male and female winners and age categories. £100 course record prize. The race has a 3 hour 30 minute cut off time, after which marshals will stand down and roads will be re-opened. Further details of the event are at www.dronfieldrc.co.uk/big-dipper

Entry Fees

The prices below include race fees, card charges and admin; there are no hidden extras.

Unaffiliated plus t-shirt£32.00
Affiliated plus t-shirt£30.00

Assuming this event does not sell out, entry on the day will be available for an additional £4.00.
ENTER NOW to guarantee your place.

Latest Entries

See all

Look who just entered:

  • Colin Fry
  • Nicola Ross, Steel City Striders RC
  • Wendy Groom
  • Kevin Haighton, Steel City Striders RC
  • Martin Robbins, Totley AC

Previous Years